While you have legal rights, the system is only geared towards getting you to plead guilty. This is not always the best legal outcome for you. The stakes are too high for you to be on your own. Being unrepresented is the same as being unprotected.
Get Assistance For…
How can we help?
What can a Lawyer do for a DUI?
The first thing that a lawyer can do for you is help you understand your legal options. People need straight talk and access to someone who knows the system. At Idaho Legal Justice, we are responsive to our clients, and you can reach us directly.
In addition, a DUI lawyer will get to the bottom of your case quickly. For many defendants, it seems like their case is happening at warp speed. An attorney will help you understand your situation. At the same time, the attorney will learn whether there are any weak parts of the case against you that could help you fight the charges. If you choose not to fight the charges, your lawyer could help you negotiate the best deal possible.
The DUI Process
Shortly afterward, you will be arraigned, where you will be informed of the charges against you and asked to enter a plea. You should have an attorney at the arraignment. You will receive a copy of the police report and be notified of any witnesses who may testify.
Several weeks afterward, you will have a pretrial conference. If you are contesting the charges, the judge may rule on some of the legal issues. Here, you may negotiate a plea bargain if that is what is best in your case. If you have not reached a plea agreement or will continue to fight the charges, the judge will set a hearing date for a criminal trial.
Penalties for a DUI in Idaho
- There can be a jail sentence of up to six months.
- If the motorist has a blood alcohol level over .20, they will see prison time between 10 days and one year.
- In addition, there will be a license suspension between 90 and 180 days.
The penalties rise on subsequent convictions.
- The second offense carries a jail sentence between ten days and one year, while the third offense has a minimum sentence of 30 days with jail time of up to a year.
Given the progressively steeper penalties for each conviction, you should think carefully about pleading guilty, even for the first offense.This is not to say that a plea bargain may not lead to the best legal outcome. It does mean that you need to consider all of the present and possible future consequences.
A DUI conviction could even lead to your loss of livelihood if you depend on transportation on a daily basis. If you are a commercial driver, you could lose your job and license.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a DUI Lawyer Cost in Boise
Our office can represent you in your case on a flat fee basis. Our fees depend on the level of charges against you. If you are facing misdemeanor charges, our service will cost $2,000. If the charge is a felony, it would cost $4,000.
For your legal fees, you will get a compassionate and responsive attorney who is committed to going the extra mile. You will get a cellphone number where you can reach your attorney, and you can discuss your case. With Idaho Legal Justice, it is possible to talk to your lawyer.
How do I get SR-22 Insurance?
If you have been convicted of DUI, you will be categorized as a high-risk driver. This is one of the consequences. Your insurance rates will escalate because you will need a special kind of auto insurance.
Private auto insurance carriers will offer this coverage. You will need to submit proof of this insurance to the government since carrying it is the law. You must contact an insurance provider licensed in the State of Idaho to obtain this coverage.
What happens if I refuse to take a breathalyzer test?
Some drivers will refuse to take a Breathalyzer test for whatever reason. Even though this denies police some key evidence, it will not get them off the hook for DUI charges.
You can still be charged with DUI. In some cases, the police will get a warrant to take your blood, which can be used to prove the blood alcohol level. In addition, there is a no-questions-asked automatic one-year suspension of your driver’s license. This is far worse than the 90-180 day penalty for a first offense DUI. Refusing to take a Breathalyzer test is usually not a good idea.
Contact Idaho Legal Justice for Further Assistance
Call us today at (208) 351-5636 or contact us online to discuss your case. We offer flat-fee arrangements and payment plans, so you can afford the legal representation that you need.