What is the Penalty for First Offense DUI in Idaho?
The most significant DUI penalty for a first offense is the potential for jail time. Some may not receive a sentence, but there is the potential for up to six months of jail time. In addition, there is a mandatory license suspension of at least 90 days.
You cannot even apply for a commercial license to go to work for at least 30 days. If your BAC was over .20, it would mean a minimum jail sentence of ten days, and prison time can reach one year.
Legal Help for First Offense DUI
How many Hours of Community Service Will You Do if Convicted of a DUI (first offense)?
For a first DUI offense, there is mandatory community service of at least 50 hours. This is just the minimum. You could be sentenced to more than that based on the severity of the offense and the particular judge.
What Happens for Your First DUI Offense?
This all depends on the circumstances of your conviction and the prosecutor. The law allows you to be sentenced to a prison term, even for a first offense. Does that mean that you will serve time for a first conviction? Not necessarily. If you choose not to fight the charges, your attorney could negotiate a favorable plea bargain that could help you stay out of jail.
What penalties Can Occur for a First Offense DUI?
For a first conviction, there may be some combination of:
- A fine
- Loss of license between 90-180 days (license suspension is automatic)
- Prison time (up to six months) or probation
Usually, first offenders will avoid significant jail time unless they have a very high BAC or injured someone else. However, this is not a guarantee. You need legal representation, even on the first offense.
How Much Does a First Offense DUI Cost?
Your first DUI offense will cost you both in terms of legal fees and a possible fine. You need an attorney to help you through the legal process, and this costs money. In addition, you could also face a fine from the state. The fine will be a minimum of $500, and it can reach up to $1,000.
Idaho Legal Justice provides dedicated and personalized representation for anyone charged with DUI. When we promise to be responsive, we back it up by making ourselves available to our clients. We make it easy to talk to your lawyer. Call us today at (208) 351-5636 or contact us online to discuss your case.